Random Rant: Superhero Drama

manhattan

Watchmen

My brother and I often have this discussion when watching superhero movies where we can’t figure out why these “heros” are so depressed and sad all the time!  I can understand it in some movies where the drama is what makes the plot like Batman for example.  However, in movies like Spider-man and X-Men half the movie is them running around crying about some girl/boy they like or how they just want to be normal!  Are you kidding me? I must have missed the part where it explained how being “normal” is anywhere near as awesome as shooting giant rays of energy out of my eyes or flying around the world with nothing other than the clothes on my back!  When I watch a movie about people with super human powers I want to see what they can DO!  I want to watch them crumble buildings with ease as I imagine myself in their shoes, instead I get to hear about how they miss their cat back home and how terrible it is to be 10,000 times stronger than the average person.

I really enjoyed the first Iron Man movie as he didn’t complain to much about his situation, even in the caves when faced with certain death.  He found a way to survive and came out a lot stronger.  As the movie progressed he kept that attitude and it was entertaining.  Another film that comes to mind is The Matrix, not so much a superhero, but he was pulled out of his life and everything he knew to be told it was all a lie… ok, so he got a little dizzy coughed up some white stuff on the floor and he was good to go, next day he was learning kung fu crap and kicking ass.  He pretty much continued to kick ass through all three movies too.

I know that the writers are probably targeting many different demographics and can’t please everyone and I am sure a lot of people would prefer a little drama rather than 2 hours of awesome action.   But personally it can really ruin a movie for me if the main character is a super hero and pretty much has the world to himself to do whatever he wants in but he can’t seem to get off the couch or stop crying long enough to enjoy any of it.  I know I have better examples of this, but I can’t think of any right now, so this rant is over for now.

About Jaret Lynch

Graphic designer who loves video games, movies, and long periods of time on the couch!

Posted on July 28, 2011, in Rants and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

