Friday Night Counter-Strike Session

It has been awhile since I have played any type of Counter-Strike but the urge hit me last night and decided to record some footage of it.  I used to be a hardcore CS player – I started playing the very first day the original CS was released for Half-Life as a modification. I remember it was some map like cs_jail or something and I was hooked immediately. There was a time about 2 or 3 years after I started playing that I should of went into professional gaming for it probably, I wish I would of recorded some of the crap I used to do. I remember learning things in chunks and then once you knew it all you would become nearly unstoppable, for example I learned the maps, then the weapon bullet patterns, then the most likely path of the enemy based on whether or not they are winning or losing, and how to recognize certain sounds.  Sound in CS was insanely important, a lot of the time I would know exactly what was going on around me without seeing anything due to footstep sounds, gun shots, grenade bouncing noises and hostages talking.  This lead to a lot of kills through walls which lead to lots of server kicks/bands, :).

My favorite strategy was to be on the losing team where the enemy would be constantly pounding us by rushing into our spawn and killing us, I would usually camp like the rest of my team for 3-5 rounds and get killed allowing the enemies to gain a lot of confidence and become stupid. Then on the 6 round or so I would buy my favorite weapon and run my ass as fast as I could into a spot they would surely all run past so they could get their easy spawn kills, and then it would be a chicken shoot!  I would mow down usually at least half their team or more in a blaze of glory before someone turns around and spots me. That was awhile ago though!  Then life distracted me and by the time I got back into it I wasn’t near as good anymore.  I never got that good at CS Source for some reason, just doesn’t feel the same.

About Jaret Lynch

Graphic designer who loves video games, movies, and long periods of time on the couch!

Posted on October 1, 2011, in Random, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

